CryptosBeginner
Curated from our card data · verified October 2026

Self custody · ranked

Self-Custodial Debit Cards: Spend Without the Middleman

Most crypto cards sit on top of an exchange or fintech account. Self-custodial cards spend directly from a wallet you control, no exchange balance in the middle. Nineteen of the 132 cards in our database carry the self-custody category; these eight are the strongest combinations of custody model, verifiable detail, and usability.

Affiliate disclosure: Some buttons may use referral links. A referral relationship does not change the inclusion criteria or guarantee approval, fees, rewards, availability, or suitability. This is an editorial curation, not financial advice.

Methodology

How we picked these cards

1Cards must carry the self-custody category in our data, meaning the provider describes spending from a user-controlled wallet or smart account.

2We ranked by the clarity of the custody model, the completeness of the published fee and reward terms, and regional usability.

3Cards with almost no published fee detail are flagged as watchlist picks rather than value verdicts.

Our own curation

This ranking is produced by CryptosBeginner from our own database of 132 card profiles. The cards are ordered by editorial judgment against the methodology above. Reward headlines are quoted from provider wording, never converted into a score, and nothing here is invented.

Ranked shortlist

8 cards, ranked

Ranked by editorial judgment against the methodology. Each card links to its full profile with the last data review date.

1
VisaVirtual

Gnosis Pay Card

Gnosis Pay

Gnosis Pay connects a Safe smart account holding stablecoins directly to Visa spending, the cleanest self-custody model we verified in our data. The up to 5% cashback scales with GNO held, so the rewards have a visible on-chain logic.

Rewards: Up to 5% cashback on eligible transactions based on the amount of GNO held in the wallet.

Fees: Pricing not disclosed on the reviewed page; check the Gnosis Pay site for current fees.

Availability: United Kingdom, Brazil, and EU countries per official docs; no full country list is published.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-10-14 · verified October 2026

2
MastercardVirtual

MetaMask Card

MetaMask

Spending straight from MetaMask balances on Linea, Solana, and Monad is the definition of self-custodial convenience. The card layers a metal tier with 3% back in mUSD on top, so you are not trading rewards for custody.

Rewards: The reviewed page lists 1% mUSD back for Virtual and 3% for Metal on the first $10,000 of spend, then 1% for Metal; terms apply.

Fees: Virtual is listed as free; Metal is listed at $199/year. A minimal transaction fee may apply.

Availability: Country and territory dependent; the reviewed page listed supported countries and noted temporarily closed US and UK signups.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-08-27 · verified October 2026

3
VisaVirtual

ether.fi Cash

ether.fi

ether.fi Cash spends from deposits in a non-custodial ether.fi Safe and pays 3% cashback on all tiers. The tier structure is unusually transparent, with published monthly limits from $2,000 to $50,000.

Rewards: 3% cashback on purchases on all tiers, subject to monthly limits: Core up to $2,000/month, Luxe up to $10,000/month, Pinnacle up to $50,000/month.

Fees: Annual fee $0; ATM withdrawals 2% per transaction; 0 FX fees on EUR and USD transactions.

Availability: Provider does not publish a specific country list; the reviewed official page was the US variant.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-10-14 · verified October 2026

4
MastercardVirtual

1inch Card

1inch (issued by Monavate, powered by Crypto Life and Baanx)

The 1inch Card spends crypto wallet balances converted to fiat at the point of purchase across the UK and EEA. Cashback terms are not confirmed in our data, so this pick is about the custody model and the 1inch brand rather than the rewards.

Rewards: Cashback terms not confirmed on the official page.

Fees: Not disclosed on the reviewed pages.

Availability: Available in the United Kingdom and the European Economic Area, with expansion planned pending partner approvals.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-10-14 · verified October 2026

5
MastercardVirtual

Holyheld Card

Holyheld

Holyheld's Mastercard spends connected self-custody wallet balances at the point of sale for residents of 30 European countries. Purchase rewards are not the pitch here; direct wallet spending without an exchange in the middle is.

Rewards: Referral rewards for inviting friends; no purchase cashback advertised.

Fees: Not disclosed on the reviewed pages.

Availability: Available to residents of 30 European countries.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-10-14 · verified October 2026

6
MastercardVirtual

Bleap Card

Bleap (Bleap SIA)

Bleap runs under a MiCA licence and spends stablecoin balances from a self-custodial wallet across Europe. Cashback is advertised but the rate is not confirmed in our data, so treat the regulatory footing as the stronger signal.

Rewards: Cashback advertised; exact rate not confirmed on the reviewed pages.

Fees: Not disclosed on the reviewed pages.

Availability: Available across Europe under its MiCA licence.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-10-14 · verified October 2026

7
VisaVirtual

wavecard

wave.space

wavecard is one of the few self-custody cards handling on-chain Bitcoin and Lightning payments inside the EEA, with a personal vIBAN for EUR. The 1% Bitcoin conversion fee is published, which makes the real cost easy to model.

Rewards: No universal cashback rate is stated on the reviewed product page.

Fees: The official FAQ lists a €2.99 virtual-card opening fee and €29.99 physical-card opening fee, plus a 1% Bitcoin conversion fee and approximately 0.5% exchange spread.

Availability: The official FAQ states that residents aged 18+ in the European Economic Area can apply.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-08-27 · verified October 2026

8
VisaVirtual

BloFin Wallet Card

BloFin Wallet

BloFin's Wallet Card is funded with USDT or USDC from a self-custodial wallet and lists Apple Pay support. A referral route is available. It is one of the few self-custody cards with explicit phone-wallet support in our data.

Rewards: No universal cashback rate is stated on the reviewed official wallet page.

Fees: BloFin says card-deposit service fees are shown before confirmation; no single universal issuance or monthly schedule is published on the reviewed page.

Availability: The official page says Visa cards are available in certain countries and regions; exact country access is shown in the app.

Provider data last reviewed 2026-08-27 · verified October 2026

Alex Rivera · Crypto researcher, CryptosBeginner

Every review is research-led: specs, fees, and availability are checked against official sources before publication and re-checked on every update. Affiliate links never influence verdicts. Last reviewed 14 October 2026.

FAQs

Questions readers ask

What does self-custodial mean for a crypto card?+

The card spends from a wallet whose keys you control, such as a smart account or a connected wallet, instead of from a balance held by an exchange. You keep custody; the card provider only handles the payment rail.

Are self-custodial cards safer?+

They remove exchange counterparty risk, but they add wallet responsibility: lost keys can mean lost funds, and smart contracts carry their own risk. Custody model is one risk factor among many, alongside issuer, region, and terms.

Do self-custodial cards pay rewards?+

Some do. Gnosis Pay ties cashback to GNO holdings, MetaMask pays up to 3% in mUSD on its metal tier, and ether.fi pays a flat 3%. Others offer no purchase rewards at all, so check the rewards field of each profile.